What is FR-44 Insurance?

After a DUI conviction, drivers in Florida must provide proof through their insurance company that they have higher liability limits over a three year period after the conviction. Most insurance agents estimate that monthly premiums can increase by 200-300 percent.

The higher limits required under FR-44 are 100/300/50. In addition, if the driver did not have those higher policy limits on the date of the DUI offense then the driver must pay a reinstatement fee of $150 for a first offense, $250 for a second offense, and $500 for a third or subsequent offense.

The only way to avoid the higher and more expensive FR-44 insurance is to avoid a DUI conviction. Contact a Tampa DUI Attorney for more information about the true cost of a DUI.

No comments:

Visit our office in Tampa, Florida
Sammis Law Firm
1005 N. Marion St.
Tampa, FL 33602
(813) 250-0500